Colours and Textures; or: How to Portray a City?


As part of my website, I maintain a section entitled Travelogues. As the name implies, this section is meant to showcase travel photography, or rather, the photographs that I shoot on my travels which are a side product of the portrait, street and urban photography that I do mainly. As does everyone else, when I visit a place, I take a good many pictures simply as a memory – not something that is necessarily intended for publication. It is normally from these pictures that I assemble the sets for the Travelogues section.

I find that selecting shots for these sets harder than it is for the street or urban photos – at least when trying to document well-known places. The photos do not need to be great (they should be good, though), but they need to be interesting. And here is where the problem arises – which travel photographs of well known locales are interesting ? Does another shot of the Eiffel Tower still kindle anyone’s interest. And even if it’s not a landmark like the Eiffel Tower, is even any kind of landmark that you can easily google relevant? I asked myself that very question when I returned from my recent trip to Bologna. That city is certainly less a household name than say Paris or Milan, but search for it online and you find the sights: the towers, the churches, the squares, the historic palaces. Now that’s not saying that these images may not be interesting to someone who doesn’t know the city, but I decided that my intention was not to publish a tourist guide. But how then to portray the city?

After much deliberation I stuck to the photos that I myself find the most interesting, and those basically have to do with the  attributes that fascinate me the most about Italy: the light, the colours and the textures. In other words, the fine details. So the images from Bologna as well as the nearby cities of Ferrara and Padova (Padua) which I chose for the set focus more on details than on panoramic representations, more on anonymous buildings and places rather than landmarks. Now you can argue whether these photos paint a true picture of a city or not… but I argue that they do. They may not show the whole picture… but hopefully they show the soul of the city.

Click here to view Colours and Texture of Bologna, Ferrara and Padua.

Click here to view more photos from Italy.

One thought on “Colours and Textures; or: How to Portray a City?

  1. Pingback: Faces of Morocco – Always Arriving

Leave a Reply

